Maginficent restocking of food/booze reserves after long absence

by Tash Tastes

The good Dr has spent the last two months working in Dubai, but tonight he makes his triumphant journey home…to realise that I have still not fixed the lamp or sorted out the tap. I believe he is currently flying over Bucharest, so I shall soon be on my way to Heathrow to meet him…

For his return I decided to organise a magnificent restocking of booze and food reserves, as the oven/hob/fridge/kitchen in general haven’t seen much action in his absence. (Meanwhile, I must admit, wine glass/corkscrew activity has remained very healthy).

God bless Ocado, which ceaselessly leads me astray with enticing offers and reminders of all the personal favourites I have forgotten. Silly me, how could I have omitted a cupboard essential like Antica Formula?!

Shopping list, in chronological order:

  • 2 x Duval-Leroy Fleur De Champagne Premier Cru NV, £29.99
  • 2 x Freshly Squeezed Waitrose Orange Juice, £5.30 (absurd)
  • 1 x Antica Formula Carpano Vermouth, £14.50 for 37.5cl (never enough)
  • 1 x Cawston Press Terrific Tomato, £2.49
  • 2 x Eager Tomato Juice, £3.00 (2 types of tomato juice absolutely necessary for continuing research into which is the best for making Bloody Marys)
  • 1 x Green Celery, £0.80
  • 1 x Tabasco, £1.89
  • 1 x The Hedonist Shiraz 2013, £11.19 down from £13.99 (BARGAIN)

I have been assured that the good Dr is bringing back a giant bottle of vodka from Dubai, and I already have gin and Martini Rosso in abundance, so at this point I have secured excellent ingredients for all desirable brunch cocktails – Mimosa, Bloody Mary and Negroni. The latter not so traditional, it has to be said. Neither The Hedonist Shiraz, but this should always be snapped up when it’s on offer.

Realising I have gone completely overboard and also forgotten entirely about food, I hastily add eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, chorizo, salmon, avocado etc. We shall have a feast to rival The Breakfast Club (I imagine)!

Delivery arrived last night and it appears I have enough food to feed a small family of mice, but enough booze to quench the five thousand. A brilliant Saturday is on the cards…